That quinoa reminds me of something I saw in lab…

I’m sorry if I gross you out, but the other day in pathology we were looking at some fresh specimens of animals that came in for necropsy, and…

Actually, I’m not going to do that to you.  At least, not in writing.  However, the next time I eat lunch with my classmates, we’ll probably discuss something along those lines.  I actually can’t come up with a good example, because I can’t think of anything that I find gross that we encounter at school.  We do try to tone it down when we come home or go out with non-medical friends, but to be honest, it’s really hard.  When all we talk about at school are different types of necrosis and what food they most closely resemble (I am not joking, pathology makes me hungry EVERY DAY) or what effect certain pathogens have on various parts of the body, it gets hard to have conversations about normal things.  We will try not to compare your cottage cheese to certain inflammatory processes, or your spaghetti to a type of parasite one group found in a dog in anatomy lab, but when we forget that certain things should not be mentioned – ever –  outside the lab or clinic, let alone over chicken and rice, just be patient.  And I apologize in advance (and retrospectively) for forgetting that not everyone is as fascinated by gross things as I am.

Leave a Reply

